BRC Global Food Safety Standards

Home / News, Views & Updates / BRC Global Food Safety Standards

BRC Global Food Safety Standards

The BRC Global Standards consist of four industry-leading Technical Standards that specify requirements to be met by an organisation to enable the production, packaging, storage and distribution of safe food and consumer products.

The four standards are:
– BRC Global Standard for Food Safety. This standard is now at Issue 6

– BRC/IOP Global Standard for Packaging & Packaging Materials. This standard is now at Issue 4

– BRC Global Standard for Storage and Distribution. This standard is now at Issue 2, and

– BRC Global Standard for Consumer Products. This standard is now at Issue 3.

Originally developed in response to the needs of UK members of the British Retail Consortium, BRC, the Standards are now used world-wide and are specified by growing numbers of retailers and branded manufacturers in many countries. Certification to a Global Standard is achieved through audit by third-party Certification Bodies. Certification reassures retailers and branded manufacturers of the capability and competence of the supplier. Certification reduces the need for retailers and manufacturers to carry out their own audits.

BRC Food Safety Standard Issue 6 represents the most significant change to this standard to date. Issue 6 comes into effect on January 1st 2012.

We will hold our next BRC Global Food Safety Standards training course on 31 Jan 2012 in Dublin. Previous courses have been fully booked out. Contact if you would like to attend.

Food Retailer

Share this Article

Blog Sign up

Sign up to receive the latest industry and company news direct to your inbox.